The United Benefice of Lorton and Loweswater with Buttermere lies within the Derwent Deanery of the Carlisle Diocese.The Priest in Charge is Sheila Hughes. All three churches are open during daylight hours.

The three churches in the Benefice are:

St Cuthbert, Lorton

First mentioned in the Pipe Rolls of 1198. Rebuilt in 1807-9 with the chancel a later addition. The tower was rebuilt in 1996. A unique feature of the Church is the exceptional needlework displayed on twenty 14ft kneelers. For those who want some more detail and history, there is a brochure in the church.

St Bartholomew, Loweswater

A place of worship since 1125, a Chapel of Ease linked to St Bees Priory. The site of the present day was that of a small plain “Lakeland Chapel” consecrated by the Bishop of Chester in 1829. The chapel was extensively enlarged and refurbished in 1884 when the population was expected to increase due to discovery of a lead vein running through the valley.

St James, Buttermere

A small picturesque church built on a rock outcrop overlooking the village on the junction of the Honister and Newlands passes. The original building dates back to 1507. The present building dates from 1840 and was restored in 1930. Special features are a memorial to Alfred Wainwright the guidebook writer, the wrought iron shepherd’s gate and the twin angels on the reredos carved by Cumbrian farmer Jonathon Stamper in 1998.

The current service schedule is available below:

September – December 2017
May – August 2017