A small picturesque church built on a rock outcrop overlooking the village on the junction of the Honister and Newlands passes. The original building dates back to 1507. The present building dates from 1840 and was restored in 1930. Special features are a memorial to Alfred Wainwright the guidebook writer, the wrought iron shepherd’s gate and the twin angels on the reredos carved by Cumbrian farmer Jonathon Stamper in 1998.
Details of services can be found in the Local Events diary here.
St James is in the same parish as Loweswater, view details here